Eric Corijn

Dream City workshops

The Urban arts festival also serves to rethink the city. The world has become urban and we must build the city together, that is why this year we have organized a series of reflection workshops on important themes for Tunisia. We have invited Professor Eric Corijn, a renowned scholar, to plan and animate these debates. Professor Eric Corijn teaches at the Free University of Brussels. He is a philosopher of culture and a sociologist. He is also the founding father of the urban research center, Cosmopolis, and a consultant for the World Parliament of Mayors. Moreover, Corijn is the vice-president of the Brussels Studies Institute and director of the Brussels Academy. Every morning, from 10:00 am to 12:30 pm, he will host a Tunisian expert in the mythical Medresa Al Khaldounia. After an introductory presentation, they will discuss questions about urbanity in Tunis. The discussions are open to the public.

Credits

Dream City workshops

Genre :
Dates and times : 4th to 8th October from 10am to 12:30pm
Duration : 120 min
Place : Al Khaldounia

1. Wednesday 4 October : How to maintain the Medina heritage in the 21st century?

The Medina of Tunis is one of the biggest and most prestigious Medinas in the world. Registered as a world heritage site by UNESCO, it encompasses more than 700 monuments. But it is under the pressure of the modern city which attracts economic activities, tourism and globalization, which forces the souks to change activities and the palaces to change their functions. So how can we maintain a heritage in the 21st century?

3. Friday 6 October: Tunis, a World-City? Between the Medina and the New City

The world has become urban. Tunis is the biggest city in the country, and it is at once a political and an economic center. Around the medina, a modern city with its own centers and residential districts has developed. But the city has its social geography: the rich and the poor have their separate districts, the means of transportation are not the same for everybody, and the job market is fragmented. What city project is possible beyond all those divisions and inequalities and what are the priorities to be considered in order to achieve urban development? What city project is possible beyond all those divisions and inequalities and what are the priorities to be considered in order to achieve urban development?

5. Sunday 8 October: How to Change Urban Transportation in Tunis?

A city is structured around transportation. The centers depend on their accessibility. More than a million Tunisians move from one place to another every day. The public transportation network is not very efficient. Cars remain the preferred means of transportation. Throughout the world we are in the middle of a paradigm shift concerning transportation. How can we modernize transportation in Tunis? How can we minimize the role of the car? Can bicycles be a solution?

2. Thursday 5 October: The youngsters, engine of modernity

The young generations constitute one third of the Tunisian population. The economic crisis and certain traditions in the country cut out all sparks of hope for a future. The slow democratization process does not live up to the enthusiasm that fuelled the revolution. How can we develop a bright future? With what type of economy, what type of education, and what type of lifestyles?

4. Saturday 7 October: Art and The City

Art produces the imaginary dimension of society. Inviting artists to reflect together about the city inspires us. The more complicated the world is, the more we need such confrontations. “Dream City” is an art festival in the city. It was founded in 2007 by the Tunisian dancers and choreographers Sofiane and Selma Ouissi for the medina of Tunis. The festival continued throughout 2010, 2012, 2013, 2015 and the year 2017 marks its 6th edition. This year, the directors were joined by Jan Goossens as the artistic director. After a presentation of the history of the biennial, we will discuss the role of art in the city.

©Pol Guillard
©Pol Guillard

Eric Corijn (Brussels)

Eric Corijn (1947) is a cultural philosopher and social scientist. He studied Marine biology, Philosophy, Futures Studies, Science Dynamics and Psycho-analysis at the universities of Ghent, Brussels, Utrecht and Amsterdam. He holds a PhD in Social Sciences from the University of Tilburg in The Netherlands. Moreover he followed this with studies in Arts school in General Arts, Sculpture and Monumental Sculpture at the RHoK Academy in Brussels. He build a career as a researcher and university professor teaching in Ghent, Tilburg, Deusto-Bilbao, Louvain and Brussels.There he founded COSMOPOLIS, an institute for urban studies. He initiated several European programmes such as the Erasmus Mundus Master programme in Urban Studies 4Cities, with the two universities of Brussels, the universities of Vienna and Copenhagen and the Complutense and Autonoma universities in Madrid.

Moreover Eric Corijn is vice-president of the Brussels Studies Institute, director of the Brussels Academy and vice chair of the Regional development Commission of Brussels Capital Region. He is also very engaged as a fellow traveler of the performance arts, involved in the Arts Network of Brussels and academic supervisor of the Cultural Plan. He has published over 250 publications. 

Crédits


Technical Partner : SYBEL Light & Sound
Place provided by the National Library
Supported by the European Union and by the DROSOS-foundation as part of the project “”Fabrique artistique d’espaces populaires” (Artistic manufacturing of public spaces).
Acknowledgments : The team of al Khaldounia

Médiathèque

Newsletter

Sign up to receive the latest news!

Eric Corijn

Les Ateliers de la Ville Rêvée

Un festival artistique urbain sert aussi à réfléchir la ville. Le monde est devenu urbain et nous devons faire la ville ensemble. C’est pourquoi nous organisons cette année une série d’ateliers de réflexion sur des thématiques d’importance pour Tunis. Nous avons demandé à un académicien de renommée mondiale de concevoir et d’animer ces débats. Le Professeur Eric Corijn enseigne à l’Université Libre de Bruxelles. Il est philosophe de la culture et sociologue, il est fondateur d’un important centre de recherches urbaines Cosmopolis. Consultant pour le Parlement Mondial des Maires, il est aussi vice-président de la Brussels Studies Institute et directeur de la Brussels Academy. Chaque matin, de 10h30 à 12h30, il recevra un expert tunisien à la mythique Médresa Al Khaldounia. Après un exposé introductif, ils discuteront des questions de l’urbanité à Tunis. La conversation est ouverte au public.

Crédits

Les ateliers de la ville rêvée

Genre : Ateliers
Dates et heures : du 4 au 8 Octobre de 10h à 12h30
Durée : 120 min.
Lieu : Al Khaldounia

1. Mercredi 4 octobre : Comment maintenir le patrimoine de la médina au XXIe siècle ?

La médina de Tunis est une des plus grandes et des plus prestigieuses. Inscrite au Patrimoine Mondiale de l’UNESCO, elle abrite plus de 700 monuments. Mais elle est sous pression de la ville moderne qui attire l’économie, le tourisme et la mondialisation : les souks changent d’activités, les palais changent de fonction. Comment maintenir un patrimoine au XXIe siècle ?

3. Vendredi 6 octobre : Tunis, une ville-monde ? Entre la médina et la nouvelle ville

Le monde est devenu urbain. Tunis est la plus grande ville du pays, à la fois centre politique et économique. Autour de la médina s’est développée une ville moderne, avec ses centres et ses quartiers résidentiels. Mais la ville possède sa géographie sociale : les riches et les pauvres ont leurs quartiers, les transports ne sont pas les mêmes pour tout le monde, le marché du travail est segmenté. Quel projet de ville au-delà des divisions et des inégalités ? Quelles priorités pour le développement urbain ?

5. Dimanche 8 octobre : Comment changer la mobilité urbaine à Tunis ?

Une ville se structure autour de sa mobilité. Les centres dépendent de leur accessibilité. Plus d’un million de tunisiens se déplacent chaque jour. Le réseau des transports en commun n’est pas très performant. La voiture reste le moyen de transport préféré. Comme partout dans le monde, la transition modale est à l’ordre du jour. Comment moderniser la mobilité à Tunis ? Comment réduire la place de la voiture ? Est-ce que le vélo est la solution ?

2. Jeudi 5 octobre : La jeunesse, moteur de modernité

La jeunesse tunisienne forme un tiers de la population. La crise économique et certaines traditions lui bloquent parfois espoir et futur. Les lenteurs de la démocratisation ne répondent pas à la fougue de la révolution. Comment concevoir un futur radieux ? Quelle économie ? Quelle éducation ? Quels modes de vie ?

4. Samedi 7 octobre : L’art et la ville

L’art produit l’imaginaire de la société. Inviter les artistes à penser ensemble la ville nous inspire. Plus le monde est compliqué, plus on a besoin de telles confrontations. « Dream City» est un festival d’art dans la cité. Il a été créée en 2007 par les danseurs et chorégraphes tunisiens Sofiane et Selma Ouissi pour la médina de Tunis. Le festival se poursuit en 2010, 2012, 2013 et 2015 et en 2017 pour sa 6ième édition. Cette année, les directeurs ont été rejoints par Jan Goossens comme directeur artistique. Après une présentation de l’histoire de la biennale, nous discuterons du rôle de l’art dans la ville.

©Pol Guillard
©Pol Guillard

Eric Corijn (Bruxelles)

Eric Corijn (1947) est philosophe de la culture et sociologue. Il a fait des études de biologie marine, de philosophie, de futurologie, de dynamique des sciences et de psychanalyse dans les universités de Gand, Bruxelles, Utrecht et Amsterdam. Il a un doctorat en sciences sociales de l’Université de Tilburg. En outre, il a des diplômes d’études artistiques générales, de sculpture et de sculpture monumentale à l’Académie RHoK à Bruxelles. Il a fait une carrière de chercheur et de professeur des universités et a enseigné dans les universités de Gand, Tilburg, Deusto-Bilbao, Louvain et Bruxelles où il a fondé l’Institut d’Etudes Urbaines COSMOPOLIS. Il a initié différents programmes universitaires européens dont le Master Erasmus Mundus en Etudes Urbaines 4Cities avec les deux universités bruxelloises, les universités de Vienne, Copenhague et la Complutense et la Autonoma à Madrid.

En outre, Eric Corijn est vice-président de la Brussels Studies Institute, directeur de la Brussels Academy et vice-président de la Commission Régionale de Développement de la Région Bruxelles Capitale. Fortement engagé à côté des arts de la scène, il collabore avec le Réseau des Arts à Bruxelles et a accompagné avec eux la rédaction d’un Plan Culturel. Il a plus de 250 publications. 

Crédits


Partenaire technique : SYBEL Light & Sound
Mise à disposition du lieu par la Bibliothèque Nationale
Soutenu par l’Union européenne et par la Fondation DROSOS dans le cadre du projet “Fabrique artistique d’espaces populaires”
Remerciements : l’équipe d’al Khaldounia

Médiathèque

Newsletter

Vous souhaitez rester au courant de nos dernières nouveautés? Introduisez ci-dessous votre adresse e-mail et inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter.