Jozef Wouters

Residency 2017 - Work in progress

During Dream City 2017, the Belgian scenographer Jozef Wouters will present a starting point of the work he will be developing in Tunis in the next two years.
The first step in the project is spending time in the Medina. I will share a small atelier in a building next to a carpenter, a ceramist and a shoemaker. My project starts from that place. I imagine myself sitting in the courtyard, at a self-made desk, setting up a Wi-Fi connection, reading a book. At some point that place will ask me a question. From what I know now I’m guessing it will be something about craftsmanship.
What is craft? Or : What is my craft? Which crafts do we need for the future? But who knows, maybe the question will be about space (usually, when I sit and look around for a while, I find myself thinking about space). Everything else comes after.”
Space is here to stay” – Sun Ra

Credits

Parcours : vertjaunerose
Genre : Scenography
Dates and times : 4th to 8th October at 6pm and 8pm
Duration : 50 min.
Place : Dar Tanfous
©Jozef Wouters
©Jozef Wouters

Jozef Wouters (Bruxelles)

Jozef Wouters (1986, B) has been active as a scenographer in the Flemish and Brussels performing arts since 2007. In 2010, he graduated from a.pass (Advanced Performance and Scenography Studies) in Brussels, where he specialized in scenography. Since then he has worked with, amongst others, Meg Stuart, Thomas Bellinck, Benny Claessens, Michiel Vandevelde, Scheld’apen/Het Bos…
Wouters’s own work often relates to a specific location, such as All problems can never be solved (2012) in Laeken (B) and the Zoological Institute for Recently Extinct Species (2013) for the Museum of Natural Sciences in Brussels. During Kunstenfestivaldesarts 2016 in Brussels he performed his Decoratelier performance, INFINI 1-15.

Jozef Wouters often departs from questions that may, or may not, be predetermined, ideas that gradually take shape inside and outside the boundaries of making; sometimes functional, sometimes committed or absurd, but always with a focus on the things that preoccupy him as an artist and as a person.
Wouters is an independent artist in residence with Damaged Goods, the Brussels-based dance company of American choreographer Meg Stuart. He initiates projects using his Decoratelier in Brussels as a base.
www.jozefwouters.bewww.damagedgoods.be

Credits

Trainee : Han Buhrs
Assistant : Hichem Saidi

Architects : Zied Gharbi, Hassene Jeljeli, Kamel Balti, Mehdi Mokadmi, Maroua Abidi, Anouer Hajjar, Fida Sassi, Mohamed Salah Ben Ahmed
Production : L’Art Rue / Dream City
With the support of European Union, Damaged Goods
Acknowledgments : Sondos Belhassen, Nabil Tanfous

Mediatheque

Newsletter

Sign up to receive the latest news!

Jozef Wouters

Résidence 2017 - Etape de travail

Pendant Dream City 2017, le scénographe belge Jozef Wouters présente les prémisses du travail qu’il développera ensuite à Tunis les deux prochaines années. Il s’agit d’une étape de travail.
La première étape du projet consiste à passer du temps dans la Médina. Je partagerai un petit atelier dans un bâtiment à côté d’un charpentier, d’un céramiste et d’un cordonnier. Mon projet commence à partir de cet endroit. Je m’imagine assis dans la cour, devant ma porte, installant une connexion Wi-Fi, regardant le ciel, lisant un livre. À un moment donné, cet endroit me posera une question. D’après ce que je sais maintenant, je suppose que ce sera quelque chose à propos de l’artisanat.
Qu’est-ce que l’artisanat? Ou : quel est mon métier? Quels métiers avons-nous besoin pour l’avenir? Mais, qui sait, peut-être que la question concernera l’espace. Tout le reste viendra après.
L’espace est là pour rester” – Sun Ra

Crédits

Night Shift

Parcours : vertjaunerose
Genre : Scénographie
Dates et heures : du 4 au 8 Octobre à 18h et 20h
Durée : 50 min.
Lieu : Dar Tanfous
©Jozef Wouters
©Jozef Wouters

Jozef Wouters (Bruxelles)

Jozef Wouters (né en 1986) est actif en tant que scénographe dans les arts de la scène flamande et bruxelloise depuis 2007. En 2010, il obtient son diplôme à Bruxelles en Etudes Performance et scénographie. Il se spécialise alors en scénographie. Depuis, il a travaillé avec Meg Stuart, Thomas Bellinck, Benny Claessens, Michiel Vandevelde, Scheld’apen / Het Bos…
Le travail de Wouters est souvent lié à un emplacement spécifique, tel que All problems can never be solved (2012) à Laeken (B) et Zoological Institute for Recently Extinct Species (2013) pour le Musée des sciences naturelles de Bruxelles. Au cours du Kunstenfestivaldesarts en 2016 à Bruxelles, il a effectué une performance Decoratelier, INFINI 1-15.

Le point de départ du travail de Jozef Wouters réside souvent dans des questions qui peuvent ou ne peuvent pas être prédéterminées, des idées qui prennent progressivement forme à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur des limites de la fabrication ; parfois fonctionnelles, parfois absurdes, mais toujours en mettant l’accent sur les choses qui le préoccupent en tant qu’artiste et en tant que personne.
Wouters est un artiste indépendant en résidence avec Damaged Goods, la compagnie de danse du chorégraphe américain Meg Stuart basée à Bruxelles.

Crédits

Stagiaire : Han Buhrs
Assistante : Khadija Jaziri / Architectes : Zied Gharbi, Hassene Jeljeli, Kamel Balti, Mehdi Mokadmi, Maroua Abidi, Anouer Hajjar, Fida Sassi, Mohamed Salah Ben Ahmed

Production : L’Art Rue / Dream City
Avec le soutien de : l’Union européenne, Damaged Goods
Remerciements : Sondos Belhassen, Nabil Tanfous

Médiathèque

Newsletter

Vous souhaitez rester au courant de nos dernières nouveautés? Introduisez ci-dessous votre adresse e-mail et inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter.