Nidhal Chamekh

Barbed Gate & Cabinet des Frontières (Border Cabinet)

Security measures were strengthened in the city of Tunis in the aftermath of January 14, 2011. What was previously introduced as “exceptional measures” has become the new ‘normal’. The barbed wire and other borders have become a part of the urban landscape.
The choice to work on Bab El Bhar stems from its symbolic importance and the historical events that shaped it as a border-monument. Bab El Bhar is entirely covered in barbed wire, mystifying the controlled element and the controlling tool. The grand building retreats to the benefit of a ghostly silhouette, tracing the history of a gate overlooking the sea, renamed Porte de France by colonial authorities, and that is presently aligned on the same axis as the statue of Ibn Khuldun, the statue of Bourguiba and the Obelisk.
In parallel, the inhabitants of the city are mobilized to shape a common work, a cabinet of curiosity welcoming the collective imagination about borders.

Credits

Creations / Parcours

Parcours : vert
Genre : Visual arts
Dates and times : 4th to 8th October from 1pm to 6pm
Duration : -
Place : Bab Bhar & Foundouk des Français
©Nidhal Chamekh
©Nidhal Chamekh

Nidhal Chamekh (Tunis/Paris)

Nidhal Chamekh was born in 1985 in Dahmani (Tunisia) and graduated at the School of Fine Arts in Tunis and in Paris where he lives and works. Nidhal is committed to analyze our generation with a visual, yet experimental, language. His creations present a possible interpretation of our time, in the intersection between a biographical microcosm and a political framework, between personal experience and history, between the event and the archive. From drawing to installation to photography and video, Nidhal Chamekh fragments and dissects through his works the constitution of our contemporary identity.

His artwork has been exhibited at the Venice Biennial, the Aïchi Triennale, the Yinchuan Biennial, the Dakar Biennial and has been shown in Tunis at Politics Collective exhibitions, in Paris at The Arab World Institute, The Drawing Now, in Italy at FM Contemporary Art Center, in London at Drawing Room, during 1:54 Art Fair and in Art Basel and the Hood Museum among others.

Credits


Engineer Principal structure CIAG : Khemaies Ferchichi
Engineers CIAG : Mohamed Ben Ismail
Technician CIAG : Montassar Hachani
Civil Engineer ENIT : Sami Montassar
Interns ENIT : Nadya Aamira, Chaima Arouri
Architect ENAU : Chiraz Chtara
Interns ENAU : Faten Sbaai, Youssef Mrabet, Khaled Abdallah, Syrine Belfetni
Prototype Team : Mondher Ben Abdallah, Hatem Ben Abdallah, Skander Riahi, Khaled Souid
Assistant : Oumeyma Medini

Production : L’Art Rue / Dream City
With the support of the Ministry of Cultural Affairs
Partners : CIAG Concept, Apave, ENAU, ENIT
Technical Partner : SYBEL Light & Sound

Médiathèque

Newsletter

Sign up to receive the latest news!

Nidhal Chamekh

BARBED GATE & CABINET DES FRONTIÈRES

Au lendemain du 14 janvier 2011, les mesures de sécurité se sont renforcées dans la ville de Tunis. Ce qui était auparavant annoncé comme « mesures d’exception » s’est érigé en règle. Les fils barbelés et autres frontières font désormais partie du paysage urbain.
Le choix d’intervenir sur Bab El Bhar correspond à la charge symbolique qu’elle a captée et les événements historiques qui l’ont façonnée tel un monument-frontière. Bab El Bhar est entièrement habillée en fil barbelé, confondant l’élément contrôlé et l’outil du contrôle. L’édifice imposant se retire au profit d’une silhouette fantomatique, remontant l’histoire d’une porte donnant sur la mer, rebaptisée Porte de France par les autorités coloniales et s’alignant aujourd’hui sur l’axe de la statue d’Ibn Khaldoun, celle de Bourguiba et l’Obélisque.
En parallèle, les habitants de la ville sont mobilisés pour construire une œuvre commune, un cabinet de curiosité accueillant l’imaginaire collectif à propos des frontières.

Crédits

Parcours créations

Parcours : vert
Genre : Arts visuels
Dates et heures : Du 4 au 8 Octobre de 13h à 18h
Durée : en continu
Lieu : Bab Bhar & Foundouk des Français
©Nidhal Chamekh
©Nidhal Chamekh

Nidhal Chamekh (Tunis/Paris)

Né en 1985 à Dahmani en Tunisie, Nidhal Chamekh vit et travaille entre Paris et Tunis. Artiste plasticien, il poursuit ses études aux Beaux-arts de Tunis et de Paris. Il trace un chemin de réflexion et d’expérimentation assez profond pour repenser notre époque. Chacune de ses créations se situe, pour les questionner, dans l’intersection entre le biographique et le politique ; entre le vécu et l’historique ; entre l’événement et l’archive. Du dessin à l’installation à la photo et la vidéo, Nidhal Chamekh fragmente et défait, dissèque à travers ses œuvres la constitution même de notre identité contemporaine.

Ses œuvres ont été exposées à la Biennale de Venise, la Triennale d’Aïchi, la Biennale de Yinchuan, la Biennale de Dakar et montrées à Tunis durant les expositions du collectif Politics, à Paris à l’Institut du Monde Arabe et à Drawing Now, en Italie au FM Centre d’art contemporain de Milan, à Londres au Drawing Room durant la Foire 1 :54 ainsi qu’à Art Basel et au Musée Hood pour ne citer qu’eux.

Crédits


Ingénieur Principal structure CIAG : Khemaies Ferchichi
Ingénieurs CIAG : Mohamed Ben Ismail
Technicien CIAG : Montassar Hachani
Ingénieur en génie civil ENIT : Sami Montassar
Stagiaires ENIT : Nadya Aamira, Chaima Arouri
Architecte ENAU : Chiraz Chtara
Stagiaires ENAU : Faten Sbaai, Youssef Mrabet, Khaled Abdallah, Syrine Belfetni
Equipe Prototype : Mondher Ben Abdallah, Hatem Ben Abdallah, Skander Riahi, Khaled Souid
Assistante : Oumeyma Medini
Production : L’Art Rue / Dream City
Avec le soutien du Ministère des Affaires Culturelles
Partenaires : CIAG Concept, ENAU, ENIT
Partenaire technique : SYBEL Light & Sound

Médiathèque

Newsletter

Vous souhaitez rester au courant de nos dernières nouveautés? Introduisez ci-dessous votre adresse e-mail et inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter.