Ossama Mohammed

Step by Step

Shot in 1976- 1977 in a poverty-stricken Syrian village, Step by Step uses its mix of documentary and fiction to portray a daily repetitive routine whose harshness is in sharp contrast with the beauty of the natural surroundings. Youngsters torn between religious and political ideologies and fascinated by authority ultimately turn towards the army. Everyday life makes them slaves of the repression machine. Even though this film was made forty years ago, it retains a great contemporary relevance.

Credits

Creations / Parcours

Parcours : vert
Genre : Cinema
Dates and times : 4th to 8th October from 1pm to 6pm. Every 30 min.
Duration : 22 min
Place : Théâtre el Hamra
©Ossama Mohammed
©Ossama Mohammed

OSSAMA MOHAMMED (Damascus)

«Born in Lattakiya in 1954, Ossama Mohammed graduated from the Russian State Institute of Cinematography (VGIK) in 1979.
His first short documentary Khutwa Khutwa (Step by Step
His first fiction feature Nujum al-Nahar (Stars in Broad Daylight – 1988) was selected at the Cannes Film Festival’s Quinzaine des Réalisateurs and earned the filmmaker great critical praise, including the Golden palm at the Valencia Festival in the same year. ‬‬‬‬‬ Deemed by many to be the most scathing critique of contemporary Syrian society trapped in the iron grip of the Baath regime, the film has never been allowed a public screening in Syria.

Sunduq al-Dunya (Sacrifices, 2002), his second feature, was selected for the Cannes Film Festival’s section Un Certain Regard the same year. Complex and visually stunning, the film has confirmed its maker as one of the Soviet film school’s graduates most individual and masterful filmmakers.
After 2011 in the forced exile in Paris, he began a new cinematic adventure: Silvered Water »
Rasha SALTI

Credits


Film Director : Ossama Mohammed
Languages : Arabic subtitles in English
Original Title : Khutwa Khutwa
Black and white
Year : 1976-1977
Country : Syrie

Technical Partner : SYBEL Light & Sound
Place provided by : Théâtre El Hamra

Mediatheque

Newsletter

Sign up to receive the latest news!

Ossama Mohammed

Step by Step

Tourné en 1976-1977 dans un village pauvre de Syrie, Step by Step est à la rencontre entre le documentaire et la fiction. Il dépeint un quotidien répétitif dont la dureté contraste nettement avec la beauté de l’environnement naturel. La jeunesse prise entre les idéologies religieuses, politiques et une fascination certaine pour l’autorité se tourne finalement vers l’armée. Son quotidien en fait l’esclave de la machine de répression.
Bien que réalisé il y a près de 40 ans, ce film demeure d’une grande contemporanéité.

Crédits

Parcours créations

Parcours : vert
Genre : Cinéma
Dates et heures : du 4 au 8 Octobre de 13h à 18h. Toutes les 30 min.
Durée : 22 min
Lieu : Théâtre el Hamra
©Ossama Mohammed
©Ossama Mohammed

Ossama Mohammed (Damas)

Né à Lattakiya en 1954, Ossama Mohammed est un réalisateur, directeur de photographie et scénariste diplômé en 1979 de l’Institut de cinéma de Russie (VGIK).
Son premier court métrage “Khutwa Khutwa” (1978) aborde le secret de la mutation d’enfants pauvres et innocents en soldats et assassins potentiels. Il a été choisi après 35 ans à la sélection officielle de Berlin 2013.
Sa première fiction Nujum al-Nahar (Stars in Broad Daylight) en 1988 est considérée par beaucoup comme une brillante critique de la société syrienne contemporaine piégée dans le régime Baath. La projection publique de celui-ci n’a jamais été autorisée en Syrie. Le film a été sélectionné à la Quinzaine des Réalisateurs du Festival de Cannes. Son auteur a reçu des éloges ainsi que la Palme d’or la même année au Festival de Valence.

Sunduq al-Dunya (2002), le deuxième long métrage du réalisateur, a été sélectionné dans la catégorie “Un Certain Regard” au Festival de Cannes. Complexe et visuellement étonnant, le film a confirmé son créateur comme l’un des plus magistraux cinéastes diplomé de l’école soviétique de cinéma.
Après 2011 dans son exil forcé à Paris, il a commencé une nouvelle aventure cinématographique: “Silvered Water, Syria Self-Portrait“, sélection officielle du Festival de Cannes 2014.

Crédits


Réalisation : Ossama Mohammed
Durée : 22 min.
Langues : arabe sous-titré en anglais
Titre original : Khutwa Khutwa
Noir et blanc
Année : 1976-1977
Pays : Syrie

Partenaire technique : SYBEL Light & Sound
Mise à disposition du lieu : Théâtre El Hamra

Médiathèque

Newsletter

Vous souhaitez rester au courant de nos dernières nouveautés? Introduisez ci-dessous votre adresse e-mail et inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter.