Wael Shawky

Cabaret Crusades III : The Secrets of Karbalaa

This is the final instalment of the trilogy, which covers the Second (1145- 49), Third (1189-92) and Fourth Crusades, with the final scene closing with the destruction of Constantinople by Venetian Crusaders in 1204.
The film features the legendary figures from the historical conflict : Saladin, Nur al-Din Zengi, Richard the Lionheart and Frederick Barbarossa.
The Battle of Karbalaa in 680 took place in the town of Karbalaa, Southern Baghdad, where the decisive
battle over the legacy of the Prophet Muhammed took place, which led to the schism between Sunni and Shi’a Muslims that still exists today.
Shawky created the marionettes from Murano glass, some taking the form of animals, others disfigured – all showing the grotesque brutality of war. The use of Murano glass emphasises the fragile and delicate nature of the religious and political sparring of the Crusades, but it also cleverly intertwines the European and Arabian narratives, fusing East and West. 

Credits

Free nightly happenings

Genre : Cinema
Dates and times : 4th to 8th October at 7pm
Duration : 120 min
Place : Théâtre el Hamra
©Wael Shawky - Courtesy of the Artist and Lisson Gallery
©Wael Shawky - Courtesy of the Artist and Lisson Gallery

Wael Shawky (Alexandria)

Based on extensive periods of research and enquiry, Wael Shawky’s work tackles notions of national, religious and artistic identity through film, performance and storytelling. Whether instructing Bedouin children to act out the construction of an airport runway in the desert or organizing a heavy metal concert in a remote Egyptian village, Shawky frames contemporary culture through the lens of historical tradition and vice versa. Mixing truth and fiction, childlike wonder and spiritual doctrine, Shawky has staged epic recreations of the medieval clashes between Muslims and Christians in his trilogy of puppet animations – titled Cabaret Crusades: The Horror Show Files (2010), The Path to Cairo (2012) and The Secrets of Karbalaa (2015) – while his three-part film, Al Araba Al Madfuna, uses child actors to recount poetic myths, paying homage, rather than mere lip-service, to the important narratives of yesteryear.

Wael Shawky was born in Alexandria, Egypt in 1971 where he lives and works. Recent solo exhibitions include Kunsthaus Bregenz, Austria (2016); Fondazione Merz, Zurich, Switzerland (2016); MATHAF, Doha, Qatar (2015); MoMA P.S.1, New York, USA (2015); K20 Düsseldorf, Germany (2014-15); Serpentine Galleries, London, UK (2013-14); KW Contemporary Art Institute, Berlin, Germany (2012); Nottingham Contemporary, UK (2011); Walker Art Center, Minneapolis, USA (2011); etc.

Credits


Film Director : Wael Shawky
Language : Arabic subtitles in English
Color
Year : 2015

With the support of the Lisson Gallery London – New York
Technical Partner : SYBEL Light & Sound
Place provided by : Théâtre El Hamra

Mediatheque

Newsletter

Sign up to receive the latest news!

Wael Shawky

Cabaret Crusades III : The Secrets of Karbalaa

C’est le dernier volet d’un triptyque, qui couvre la deuxième (1145-49), la troisième (1189-92) et la quatrième Croisade, incluant la scène finale de la destruction de Constantinople par les Croisés vénitiens en 1204.
Le film présente les figures légendaires du conflit historique : Saladin, Nur al-Din Zengi, Richard Cœur de Lion et Frédéric Barberousse.
La bataille de Karbalaa a eu lieu en 680 dans la ville éponyme, au sud de Bagdad. C’est une bataille décisive pour la succession politique du Prophète Mohammed qui conduit au schisme historique entre les Musulmans sunnites et chiites.
Shawky a créé les marionnettes en verre de Murano, certaines prenant une apparence animale, d’autres défigurées soulignant ainsi la brutalité de la guerre. L’utilisation du verre de Murano met l’accent sur la nature fragile du combat religieux et politique des Croisades. Il entretient aussi intelligemment les récits européens et arabes, fusionnant ainsi Est et Ouest

Crédits

Les gratuits de la nuit

Genre : Cinéma
Dates et heures : du 4 au 8 Octobre à 19h
Durée : 120 min
Lieu : Théâtre el Hamra
©Wael Shawky - Courtesy of the Artist and Lisson Gallery
©Wael Shawky - Courtesy of the Artist and Lisson Gallery

Wael Shawky (Alexandrie)

Basé sur de longs temps de recherche et d’enquête, le travail de Wael Shawky aborde les notions d’identité nationale, religieuse et artistique à travers le cinéma, la performance et la narration. Que les enfants bédouins puissent agir sur la construction d’une piste d’aéroport en plein désert ou organiser un concert de heavy métal dans un village égyptien reculé, Shawky travaille la culture à travers le prisme de la tradition historique et vice versa. Mêlant la réalité et la fiction, l’émerveillement de l’enfance et la spiritualité, Shawky a mis en scène les affrontements médiévaux entre musulmans et chrétiens dans sa trilogie basée sur des marionnettes – intitulé Cabaret Crusades : The Horror Show Files (2010), The Path to Cairo (2012) et The Secrets of Karbalaa (2015).

Dans son film en trois parties, Al Araba Al Madfuna, il fait appel à des enfants acteurs pour raconter des mythes poétiques, rendant ainsi hommage, au-delà d’une simple narration, aux récits fondateurs d’antan.
Wael Shawky est né à Alexandrie en Egypte en 1971 où il vit et travaille. Ses expositions personnelles : Kunsthaus Bregenz, Autriche (2016) ; Fondazione Merz, Zurich, Suisse (2016) ; MATHAF, Doha, Qatar (2015) ; MoMA P.S.1, New York, USA (2015) ; K20 Düsseldorf, Allemagne (2014-15) et tant d’autres.

Crédits


Réalisation : Wael Shawky
Durée : 120 min.
Langue : arabe sous-titré en anglais
Couleurs
Année : 2015
Avec le soutien de la Lisson Gallery Londres – New York
Partenaire technique : SYBEL Light & Sound
Mise à disposition du lieu : Théâtre El Hamra

Médiathèque

Newsletter

Vous souhaitez rester au courant de nos dernières nouveautés? Introduisez ci-dessous votre adresse e-mail et inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter.